KENT COUNTY COUNCIL

GOVERNOR APPOINTMENTS PANEL

MINUTES of a meeting of the Governor Appointments Panel held in the Swale 1, Sessions House, County Hall, Maidstone on Friday, 14 December 2012.

PRESENT: Mr D L Brazier (Chairman), Mrs V J Dagger, Mr R J Parry and Mr R Tolputt

OFFICERS: Ms T Gimber (School Governance Officer) and Mr A Tait (Democratic Services Officer)

UNRESTRICTED ITEMS

14. Minutes - 5 October 2012 (*Item A3*)

RESOLVED that the Minutes of the meeting held on 5 October 2012 are correctly recorded and that they be signed by the Chairman.

15. Authority Governors for Primary, Secondary and Special Schools in Kent (*Item B1*)

- (1) The Panel agreed to the re-appointment of Mrs S Herbert to the Governing Body of St Lawrence CE Primary School as she had twice previously declared the matters set out in the Issues Paper and been appointed on both occasions.
- (2) The Panel agreed to re-appoint Mrs M Hibbert to the Governing Body of Hawkinge Primary School as her non-attendances at its meetings had been mainly caused by ill health. The Governing Body had also expressed its wish for her to continue to serve.
- (3) The Panel noted correspondence from the Area Education Officer (Mid Kent) explaining the pivotal role played by Mr J Edgar as the Chairman of Governors of St Katherine's School. In the light of this correspondence, the Panel agreed to Mr Edgar's re-appointment to the Governing Body.
- (4) The Panel agreed to re-appoint Mrs C Mellors to the Governing Body of St Augustine's Catholic Primary School as she had taken a one year sabbatical (with the full support of the Governing Body) in order to act as a carer. She had been fully involved with the work of the school since then.
- (5) The Panel agreed to consider the re-nomination of Mr C Johnson to the Governing Body of The North School as he had not been responsible for the late submission of his nomination form. The Panel agreed to his re-appointment as he had previously been appointed after declaring all the required information in respect of Guideline 3. He had also been Chair of the Governing Body since 2010.
- (6) The School Governance Officer reported the receipt of the required nomination forms for Mrs A Depledge (Petham Primary School), Mrs M Blight

(Swalecliffe Community Primary School) and Mr W Martin (Benenden CEP School). As there were no issues, the Panel agreed to all three re-appointments.

(7) RESOLVED that the appointments of Authority Governors to Primary, Secondary, Special Schools, Pupil Referral Units, the Pool of Additional Governors, and the nominations to non-Authority Academies be agreed as set out in the Appendix to these Minutes.

APPENDIX (Paragraph 15 of the Minutes refers)

1. ASHFORD

SchoolAppointeeAldington Primary SchoolMr J RogersBradbourne CE Primary SchoolMr J MaylandBrook Community Primary SchoolMrs S HullMersham Primary SchoolMrs C GreenerThe North SchoolMr C Johnson

2. CANTERBURY

SchoolAppointeeChartham Primary SchoolMrs V ElvidgeHerne CE Infant and Nursery SchoolMr G MoorePetham Primary SchoolMrs A DepledgeSwalecliffe Community Primary SchoolMrs M BlightThe Orchard SchoolMiss L McCannWestmeads Community Infant SchoolMiss A Levitt

3. DARTFORD

SchoolAppointeeKnockhall Community Primary SchoolMr R SteelWest Hill Primary SchoolMrs S ClarkeWest Hill Primary SchoolMrs A Ready

4. DOVER

SchoolAppointeeCharlton CE Primary SchoolMrs P KingWhitfield School and Aspen Special UnitMrs S King

5. GRAVESHAM

SchoolAppointeeHigham Primary SchoolMr B MaynardIstead Rise Primary SchoolMr D GyasiNorthfleet School for GirlsMrs J ChristieShears Green Infant SchoolMrs A SavillSt John's Catholic Comprehensive SchoolMr R ElmaghrabiWrotham Road Primary SchoolMs A M Walker

6. MAIDSTONE

SchoolAppointeeEast Farleigh Primary SchoolMrs W WilliamsGreenfields Community Primary SchoolMrs L GilbertYalding St Peter and St Paul CE Primary SchoolMr C Haige

7. SEVENOAKS

SchoolPlatt CE Primary School
St Lawrence CE Primary School

Appointee
Mr M Burke
Mrs S Herbert

8. SHEPWAY

School
Brookland CE Primary School
Castle Hill Community Primary School
Hawkinge Primary School
Sellindge Primary School

Appointee
Mrs V Cubbon
Mrs J Rumley
Mrs M Hibbert
Mrs J Rhodes

9. SWALE

SchoolEastchurch CE Primary School
Hernhill CE Primary School

Appointee
Mr I Goodwin
Miss A Levitt

10. THANET

SchoolPalm Bay Primary School

Appointee
Mrs K Collins

11. TONBRIDGE AND MALLING

SchoolLunsford Primary School
Malling Holmesdale Federation
St Katherine's School
Tunbury Primary School

Appointee
Mr B Hulme
Mr P Binnie
Mr J Edgar
Mrs C Burford

12. TUNBRIDGE WELLS

School
Benenden CE Primary School
Claremont Primary School
Horsmonden Primary School
St Augustine's Catholic Primary School, Tunbridge Wells
St Barnabas CE Primary School
St James CE Infant School

Appointee
Mr W Martin
Mrs S Hamilton
Mrs C Asplin
Mrs C Mellors
Mr M Thompson
Mr C Porter

13. PUPIL REFERRAL UNITS

14. PROPOSED FEDERATIONS

15. POOL OF ADDITIONAL GOVERNORS

16. NOMINATIONS TO ACADEMIES